16th December 2015

Aloysians and Scotland's Top Legal Officer Launch 'I Am Me' Initiative

Aloysians and Scotland's Top Legal Officer Launch 'I Am Me' Initiative

Make a Difference

St Aloysius’ College was delighted to have 14 pupils invited to Castlehead High School to take part in the official launch of The Keep Safe Ambassador Programme, a brand new training initiative set up by I Am Me Charity to help young people combat hate crime against disabled people.

Aloysians from S4, S5 and S6 received a day of special training from Police Scotland through the Keep Safe Ambassador Programme, which has been established to help young people recognise, tackle and safely report instances of disability hate crime.

The launch event was also attended by Scotland’s chief legal officer, Lord Advocate Frank Mullholland, the Divisional Commander for Police Scotland in Renfrewshire, Jim Downie, and the leader of Renfrewshire council, Anne Hall.

As the first pupils in the country to receive such training, the senior Aloysians will help to raise awareness of its messages within the College by leading a special assembly for their peers in the coming weeks.

The assembly will give those who have completed the training an opportunity to share their knowledge with their fellow Aloysians and help ensure that all College pupils are equipped to do their bit to help tackle disability hate crime.

Mr Fitzpatrick, the Assistant Head of S5, who attended the event along with Depute Head of the College Mrs Erskine, said,

“It is thought that up to 97% of all disability hate crime goes unreported and the Keep Safe Ambassadors will be ready to help make a difference in tackling and reporting this abhorrent crime.”

“The organisers of the event were full of praise for our young people, for their insightful contributions and full, active participation throughout the day. They were a credit to the College and themselves.”

All the pupils in attendance successfully completed the training and will be presented with certificates from the Head Master. Those in attendance were:


Louis Campbell

Natasha Di Ciacca

Erin McComish

Lucas McMenemy

Clare Nolan



Thomas Fegan

Rosemary MacCann

Liam Martin

Kara Paton

Maura Frances Rodgers



Sophie Hartshorne

Grainne McGinn

Flora McNulty

Laura Matheson

 Keep Safe Ambassadors